About AGFOA

/About AGFOA
About AGFOA2018-11-16T10:25:14+00:00

OUR MISSION:  To promote excellence in governmental finance through leadership, education and communication for the public benefit.

AGFOA is a nonprofit organization whose focus is to promote excellence in governmental finance through leadership, education, and communication.  Our members include state and local government officials; boroughs, cities, schools, utilities, and other finance professionals.  Our Board of Directors are voluntary, elected positions held by active members of the organization.

Contact Us

President
Joan Miller, Controller
City of Wasilla
907.373.9087
jmiller@ci.wasilla.ak.us
Term 2018-2019

Code of Ethics

The stated purpose of the Alaska Government Finance Officers Association is to promote excellence in governmental finance through leadership, education and communication for the public benefit.

To further these objectives, Alaska Government Finance Officers Association Members are enjoined to follow legal, moral, and professional standards of conduct in the fulfillment of professional responsibilities in compliance with the following:

  • Demonstrate and be dedicated to the highest ideals of honor and integrity in all public and personal relationships to merit the respect and confidence of elected officials, other public officials, employees, and the public.
  • Recognize and be accountable for their acts and their responsibilities as public officials; including sensitivity to the rights and needs of the public, striving for quality and accuracy in advice and counsel, and maintaining the letter and spirit of all Federal, State, and local governing laws, rules and regulations governing their action.
  • Exercise prudence and integrity in the management of funds and assets in their custody and in all financial transactions; and demand such from others in their employ.
  • Strive to maintain their individual competence; to enhance the competence of colleagues, peers and associates; and to encourage others seeking to enter their profession.
  • Demonstrate professional integrity in the management and publication of information; present statements, reports, and other financial information fairly, in accordance with all applicable legal, regulatory, and generally accepted professional standards.
  • Avoid the act or appearance of accepting favor or gain which would influence, compromise, or appear to influence or compromise, the conduct or integrity of their official duties.

Strive to protect the public trust, to avoid the very appearance of impropriety, and to safeguard the integrity of the government they serve and of the standards they hold.

Similar Organizations

Government Finance Officers Association;  www.gfoa.org
Washington Finance Officers Association;  www.wfoa.org
Oregon Municipal Finance Officers Association;  www.omfoa.org
California Society of Municipal Finance Officers;  www.csmfo.org

By Laws

Board of Directors

President

Joan Miller, Controller
City of Wasilla
907.373.9087
jmiller@ci.wasilla.ak.us
Term 2018-2019

President-Elect

Julie Liew, Finance Director
City of Nome
907.443.6620
jliew@nomealaska.org
Term 2018-2020

Treasurer

Nikki Reed, Assistant Finance Officer
Bristol Bay Borough
907.246.4224
nreed@bbbak.us
Term  Fall 2017-2019

Director/Secretary

Barbara Baumgartner, Comptroller
Matanuska Susitna Borough
907.861.8624
barbara.baumgartner@matsugov.us
Term 2017-2020

Director

Margarita Bell, Controller
City of Fairbanks
907.459.6788
mbell@fairbanks.us
Term Fall 2018-2020

Director

Gina Davis, Finance Director
City of Palmer
907.761.1314
gdavis@palmerak.org
Term 2018-2020

Director

Cathi Wojtanek, Controller
North Slope Borough
907.852.2611
cathi.wojtanek@north-slope.org
Term 2016-2019

Director

Angie Sturm, Director of Finance
Northwest Arctic Borough
907.412.2103
asturm@nwabor.org
Term 2018-2020

Associate Member -In State

Amber Frizzell, Director of Client Relations, VP
Alaska Permanent Capital Management
907.646.3521
amber@apcm.net
Term 2017-2020

Associate Member-Out of State

Paul Jarvis, Managing Director
Time Value Investments, Inc
877.707.7787
paul.jarvis@timevalueinv.com
Term 2015-2018
Communication Committee Chair

Education Committee

Sam Thompson, Assurance Manager
BDO USA LLP
907.278.8878
sthompson@bdo.com
Education Committee Chair

AML Representative

Deven Mitchell, Executive Director
Alaska Municipal Bond Bank Authority
907.465.3750
deven.mitchell@alaska.gov
AML Liaison

GFOA Representative

Ryan Williams, Finance Director
Alaska Municipal Bond Bank Authority
907.465.2893
ryan.williams@alaska.gov
Term Fall 2018-2020